Popcorn.

It’s been 9 months now since I had my brush with death and yet I am still responding to things like it was two days ago. Sounds are the worst. Loud, unexpected sounds are terrible. They send me to a place that is difficult to describe.

My ears begin to hurt, pulse, and get warm. It’s almost as if the airbag and glass crushed by the side of the truck is right next to them again.

My heart begins to pound,

my chest tightens,

breath shortens, eyes close, and again I am back on the road in the car heading for the ditch.

Sometimes it’s a broom toppling over, or a serving spoon falling from the counter. Other times it’s as simple as a crunch of a popcorn bag. Not quite as high of a decibel rating as those Sun Chip bags 5 years ago, but definitely  environmentally aware enough to be louder than your average bag.

Funny. Strange.

A Popcorn bag can send me to a state of panic.

It’s gotten worse in the last 2 months. I haven’t started wearing ear plugs, but every once in a while I wish I had some in throughout the day just to lessen the blow.

Leave a Reply

